Four-Year Colleges & Universities Within 60 Miles of Somerset
Institutions engaged in furnishing academic courses and granting degrees at baccalaureate or graduate levels.
Miles Institution Location Enrollment
(Fall 2016)
  30  Eastern Kentucky University, Corbin Campus  Corbin  N/A  
  34  University of the Cumberlands  Williamsburg  7,652  
  38  Berea College  Berea  1,665  
  39  Lindsey Wilson College  Columbia  2,588  
  40  Centre College  Danville  1,430  
  40  Eastern Kentucky University, Danville Campus  Danville  N/A  
  43  Union College  Barbourville  1,203  
  45  Campbellsville University  Campbellsville  3,675  
  47  Eastern Kentucky University, Manchester Campus  Manchester  N/A  
  49  Eastern Kentucky University  Richmond  16,881  
  54  Asbury Theological Seminary  Wilmore  1,574  
  54  Asbury University  Wilmore  † 1,854  
  55  Clear Creek Baptist Bible College  Pineville  128  
  Total Enrollments 6,866  
  Note: Miles are calculated as straight-line distance, not highway miles.
† Denotes enrollment for entire institution, including branch campuses; otherwise, enrollment is for specified campus.
Source:  Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development.


  Two-Year Colleges Within 60 Miles of Somerset
Institutions engaged in furnishing academic, or academic and technical, courses and granting associate degrees, certificates, or diplomas below the baccalaureate level.
  Miles Institution Location Enrollment
  Somerset Community College, Somerset North Campus  Somerset  † 6,621  
  24  Somerset Community College, Casey Center  Liberty  N/A  
  26  Somerset Community College, McCreary Center  Whitley City  N/A  
  26  Somerset Community College, Russell Center  Russell Springs  N/A  
  29  Somerset Community College, Laurel North Campus  London  N/A  
  40  American National University - Danville KY Campus  Danville  105  
  40  Bluegrass Community & Technical College, Danville Campus  Danville  N/A  
  40  Somerset Community College, Clinton Center  Albany  N/A  
  49  American National University - Richmond KY Campus  Richmond  140  
  54  Elizabethtown Community & Tech. College, Springfield Campus  Springfield  N/A  
  55  Southeast Community & Technical College, Pineville Campus  Pineville  N/A  
  59  Southeast Community & Technical College, Middlesboro Campus  Middlesboro  N/A  
  Total Enrollments  
  Note: Miles are calculated as straight-line distance, not highway miles.
† Denotes enrollment for entire institution, including branch campuses; otherwise, enrollment is for specified campus.
Source:  Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development.


  Kentucky Technical Schools Within 60 Miles of Somerset  
    Enrollment (2017-2018)  
  Miles Institution Location Sec P/S Total  
  Pulaski ATC  Somerset  462 N/A 462  
  21  Wayne County ATC  Monticello  621 N/A 621  
  24  Casey County ATC  Liberty  526 N/A 526  
  24  Rockcastle County ATC  Mount Vernon  442 N/A 442  
  26  Lake Cumberland ATC  Russell Springs  930 N/A 930  
  30  Corbin ATC  Corbin  526 N/A 526  
  31  Lincoln County ATC  Stanford  332 N/A 332  
  37  Garrard County ATC  Lancaster  346 N/A 346  
  40  Clinton County ATC  Albany  612 N/A 612  
  42  Jackson County ATC  McKee  455 N/A 455  
  43  Knox County ATC  Barbourville  447 N/A 447  
  47  Clay County ATC  Manchester  348 N/A 348  
  49  Trailblazer Academy  Harrodsburg  292 N/A 292  
  49  Marion County ATC  Lebanon  1364 N/A 1364  
  49  Madison County ATC  Richmond  825 N/A 825  
  50  Green County ATC  Greensburg  629 N/A 629  
  55  Jessamine Career and Technology Center  Nicholasville  3802 N/A 3802  
  55  Bell County ATC  Pineville  678 N/A 678  
  60  Lee County ATC  Beattyville  395 N/A 395  
  Total Enrollments 14,032 14,032  

Note: Miles are calculated as straight-line distance; not highway miles.  Kentucky Tech's secondary schools, called Area Technology Centers (ATCs), are administered by the Office of Career & Technical Education (OCTE), an agency within the KY Education and Workforce Development Cabinet's Deptartment for Workforce Investment. Other secondary schools are operated locally by public school districts. Secondary student enrollment is listed under Sec, and post-secondary student enrollment is listed under P/S.
Source:  KY Education & Workforce Development Cabinet; KY Dept. of Education.



  Training Resources  
  Bluegrass State Skills Corporation - The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation (BSSC) was established in 1984 by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky as an independent, de jure corporation to stimulate economic development through customized business and industry specific skills training programs.  The BSSC works with business and industry and Kentucky's educational institutions to establish programs of skills training.  The BSSC is attached to the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development for administrative purposes, in recognition of the relationship between economic development and skills training efforts.

The BSSC is comprised of two economic development tools, matching grants and recently authorized Skills Training Investment Tax Credit.  The BSSC grant program is available to new, expanding and existing business and industry.  Eligible training activities include pre-employment skills training and assessment; entry-level skills upgrade and occupational upgrade training; train-the-trainer travel; and capacity building.  The Skills Training Investment Credit Act provides credits to existing businesses for skills upgrade training.

Information on other customized training, assessment services and adult education services can be obtained by contacting the local economic development agency.