Boards & Commissions

Helping to ensure the state’s economic development efforts remain cutting edge and business focused, the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development is led by the Kentucky Economic Development Partnership Board, some of the Commonwealth’s most prominent business men and women. In addition, several state boards and commissions also support Kentucky’s efforts to improve the local workforce, encourage business growth and help small businesses succeed.

Partnership Board

Comprised of 13 public-private sector members, the Partnership Board provides strategic governance to the Cabinet. The Partnership Board provides oversight of strategic plans, goals and structure for the Cabinet. Current members include:

Voting Members

Governor Matthew G. Bevin, Chairman
Commonwealth of Kentucky
Elizabeth McCoy
1st District
Jean Wells
2nd District
William Summers, IV
3rd District
Candace McGraw
4th District
Terry Forcht
5th District
Melinda "Lindy" Karns
6th District
Jean Hale
Terry Gill Jr.
Secretary Charles Snavely
Energy & Environmental Cabinet
Secretary William Landrum III
Finance & Administration Cabinet
Secretary Gail Russell
Public Protection Cabinet
Secretary David Dickerson
Labor Cabient

Non-Voting Members

Secretary Don Parkinson
Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet
Interim Secretary Vivek Sarin
Economic Development Cabinet

The Kentucky Economic Development
Finance Authority

The Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority (KEDFA) is responsible for awarding most of the financial incentives offered by the Cabinet, including job growth and retention tax credit programs, loans, industrial revenue bonds, economic development bond grants and tax increment financing. Current board members are as follows:

Jean R. Hale, Board Chair
Chairman, President & CEO
Community Trust Bancorp, Inc.
Don Goodin, Vice Chair
Owner and Managing Partner
Lebanon Oak Flooring Co. LLC
Chad Miller, Asst Secretary Treasurer
LockNet, LCC
Tucker Ballinger, Secretary Treasurer
President & CEO
Forcht Bank
Joe Kelly
Columbia Gas of Kentucky - Retired
Secretary William Landrum
Finance & Administration Cabinet


Decisions from recent KEDFA board meetings are available here.

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation (BSSC) oversees the approval of Skills Training Investment Credits and Grant-in-Aid projects to encourage workforce development in Kentucky. Current Members are as follows:

Randall Fox, BSSC Board Chair
Capstone HR Services Inc.
William "Carl" Lay
Retired – VP of Corporate Relations, Akebono
Brenda Bankston, BSSC Vice-Chair
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Kentuckiana
Eston Glover, BSSC Treasurer
Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop.
Tom Lund, Executive Committee Member at Large
Marion County Economic Development
John Y. Kuzuoka
Sheet Metal Workers - Retired
Rita Combs-Sterrett
RCS Associates
Dr. Aaron Thompson
Vice President Council on Postsecondary Education
Secretary David Dickerson
Labor Cabinet
Torsten Langguth
Dr. Schneider Automotive Systems, Inc.
Interim Secretary Vivek Sarin
Cabinet for Economic Development
Dr. Jay Box
Secretary Derrick Ramsey
Education & Workforce Development Cabinet
Commissioner Lana Gordon
Department of Workforce Investment
Jeff Whitehead

The Commission on Small Business Advocacy

The Commission on Small Business Advocacy (CSBA) is an independent state commission that serves as a voice for Kentucky’s small business community during the regulatory and legislative development process.

The Commission relies on the expertise of a thirteen-member board, appointed by the Governor. The board members represent a diverse and unique mix of small business owners and advocates. Each member has a deep appreciation of small business and a commitment to represent the specific needs of the small business community.

Current members are as follows:

Tyrone Tyra, Chair
Commerce Lexington
Eric Crump, Vice Chair
The Benefits Firm
Sundeep Dronawat
West Wind Power
Barry Eveland
Rocket Oil, Co.
Patricia Krausman
Elizabethtown SBDC
Olivia Scholz
St. John & Myers Jewelry
Earl ‘Chip’ Hamm, Jr
Hamm & Associates, PLLC
Robert Hudson
Frost Brown Todd, LLC
Darren West
Herbert L. McKee
Self Employed
Malissa Shelton
Hometown Bank
Kristel Smith
Kentucky Innovation Network
Sandra Wilson
Hart County Tourist Commission